Operationalizing Green Economy Transition in Africa: Status of Green Economy Initiatives in Nakuru and Mombasa Counties


Devolution is perhaps the most transformative aspect of the Constitution of Kenya (2010). The Constitution established a National Government and 47 County Governments, which are autonomous but inter-dependent entities. The national and county Governments conduct their mutual relations mainly on the basis of consultation and cooperation.

Specifically, County governments are expected to provide institutional structures and capacity for cascading national climate change policies to the county level.  For instance, county governments are now mainstreaming climate change and green growth strategies into their respective county integrated development plans.

As part of contributing the green economy actions at the county level, the Institute for Climate Change and Adaptation of the University of Nairobi, undertook a study on green economy actions in selected two counties.  The study was undertaken on behalf of: the International Climate Initiative (IKI); the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB); UNEP; GIZ; and Ministry of Environment, Natural Resources and Regional Development, Kenya; and County Governments of Nakuru and Mombasa.


Ministry of Environment, Natural Resources and Regional Development, Kenya

Principle Investigator
Prof. Shem Wandiga

The study specifically sought to establish the status of Green Economy initiatives in Nakuru and Mombasa Counties.

The specific issues the survey sought to examine are; (1) Six priority sectors for Mombasa  (cities and built environment, fisheries, tourism, transport and infrastructure, energy and waste) and Five priority sectors for Nakuru (agriculture, energy, forestry, transport and water) counties, selected out of the classification of eleven sectors

Project Status